Governing Board

Governing Board

CUSD Governing School Board

We Inspire, Innovate, and Create Limitless Opportunities to Thrive.

The Governing Board is committed to transparent operations, data driven decisions. and active and comprehensive oversight. The Administration is committed to open communications and comprehensive information.  
Click here for complete bios on each member.

Governing Board


Board Meetings

All Board Meetings begin at 4:00 PM and are located in the District Office Board Room at 201 Sixth Street in Coronado unless otherwise noted. Click here for a calendar of board meetings.


Board Meeting Agendas and Minutes


Click the "School Board" tab to see previous meetings

Click the "Specialty" tab to see school events



Resources Icon Resources


Financial Facts Icon Financial Facts for the Community


Governing Board Policy Manual

Click the link above for easy access to regulations and bylaws, pertinent laws and other resources from the Coronado Unified School District Governing Board Policy Manual. This manual is updated 3-4 times each year by the Governing Board at public meetings. It includes all local policies, the entire Education Code, Title 5, and other relevant state and federal code sections.



2016 Board Members

Maria Simon, President
msimon@coronadousd.net

Lou Smith, Vice President
lou.smith@coronadousd.net

Lee Pontes, Clerk
lee.pontes@coronadousd.net

Julie Russell, Member
jrussell@coronadousd.net

Esther Valdes, Member
evaldes@coronadousd.net

Karl Mueller, Superintendent
kmueller@coronadousd.net

Kami McElligott, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent/Board
kmcelligott@coronadousd.net

Contact Information for School Board Members:
201 Sixth Street, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone: (619) 522-8900 x1025