Health Services

Health Services

CUSD Student Health Services

The Coronado Unified School District Department of Health Services strives to provide accessible, quality health and nursing care for all students.

The health and safety of every student is our top priority and we create an environment where a child’s needs are understood and provided for. We coordinate with the family of students and our on-campus health faculty to address the unique needs of each student. The result is a safe and encouraging space where the child can feel safe and comfortable learning.

While we certainly give out our fair share of ice packs, bandages, and hugs, we are also prepared to take care of a whole host of serious medical needs. Under the direction of the District Nurse, our school nurses and health technicians provide many services to both staff and students. These services include but are not limited to:

  • Communicable disease control
  • Student assessment as requested
  • Hearing, vision, and scoliosis screenings
  • Resource for staff wellness
  • Interpretation and explanation of medical diagnoses and treatments
  • Find medical resources for students with health needs
  • First aid

Contact Us Contact Us

Please contact your student’s school health office for additional information, or our District Nurse, Joellen Semo, Joellen.Semo@coronadousd.net, for specific questions.

Coronado High School Health Office
Alicia Began
619-522-8907 x2093
Alicia.Began@coronadousd.net 

Coronado Middle School Health Office
Nicola McMahon, R.N.
619-522-8921 x3094
Nicola.Mcmahon@coronadousd.net

Silver Strand Elementary Health Office
Frankie Guillen
619-522-8934 x4093
Frankie.Guillen@coronadousd.net

Village Elementary Health Office
Kathy Wood (Village)
619-522-8915 x5093
Laura Orozco (ECDC)
619-522-8923 x6091
Kathleen.Wood@coronadousd.net
Village.Nurse@coronadousd.net
Laura.Orozco@coronadousd.net