Attendance Notification Letters
Posted by: Jennifer Landry 1 year, 5 months ago
In addition to the reporting requirement, the law states the school district must notify the parent or guardian of a truancy by the most cost-effective method possible, and that the notification must include specific information related to the student's unexcused absence. The first time a student is coded as truant, parents and guardians will receive an initial truancy letter from the school district.
If the attendance pattern continues and after a student has been reported as a truant three or more times, he/she will be referred to the Student Attendance Review Team regarding the excessive absences and/or tardies. In addition, the school district must attempt to meet with the student and a parent or guardian. In this instance a second notification of truancy and/or excessive absences will be sent to the parent/guardian.
The law further requires that after a student has been reported as a truant three or more times in one school year and after an appropriate school employee has made a conscientious effort to hold at least one meeting with the parent and the student, the student is deemed a habitual truant and will be referred to the Student Attendance Review Board for a mandatory hearing (a third letter will be sent to the parent/guardian identifying the place and time of the SARB hearing).
The California Child Welfare and Attendance Service has revised the reporting and recording of student attendance in an attempt to prevent chronic absenteeism. A "chronic absentee" has been defined in California Education Code (EC) Section 60901(c)(1) as "a pupil who is absent on 10 percent or more of the school days in the school year when the total number of days a pupil is absent is divided by the total number of days the pupil is enrolled.”Share on Twitter Share on Facebook