CA State Assessments


CUSD - California State Assessments


The CAASPP System (California Assessment for Student Performance and Progress) is the  state assessment system, which replaced STAR in 2014-15. The assessments are summative assessments, however all the data is used to inform instruction based on students' strengths and needs. 

There are several components to this system of tests, however for core subjects, there are two main components to it (to date) including the Smarter Balanced Assessments and California Standards Test (CST) for science. There are also other state assessments, including the California English Language Development Test (CELDT) and the Physical Fitness Test.  All test data is eventually posted in DataQuest

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Spring 2018

Blue Star Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC)

  • SBAC is a consortium of 15 states of which CA is a part.
  • Tested grades include: grades 3-8 and 11
  • Tested subject areas include: English Language Arts and mathematics

Blue Star Science - California Standards Test (CST)

  • Though CA is transitioning to the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS), a new assessment based on these standards will not be ready until approximately 2017-18. Until then, federal mandates requires that CA continue to test students in science. 
  • Tested grades: grades 5, 8, and 10 (life science)
  • CUSD students in grades 6, 7, and 8 fully transitioned to the NGSS in 2013-14.  CUSD is transitioning to NGSS for grades K-5 and 9-12.  

Blue Star  Physical Fitness Test (PFT) 

California English Language Development Test  California English Language Development Test (CELDT)